Monday, July 13, 2015

Book Review: "I Am Princess X" by Cherie Priest

When in the fifth grade, May and her best friend Libby created Princess X, their own comic book hero.  The princess wore a poofy sleeved pink dress, red chucks and wielded a katana sword.  May and Libby created books and books of her adventures up until Libby was killed in a car accident with her mother 3 years ago.  May thought the princess had died with her.  Now, this summer, she has returned to Seattle to visit her father and unexpectedly finds a sticker bearing the princess's image.  Who else could possibly know about Princess X?  What exactly is going on here?

I was first intrigued by the format of this book as it intertwines text narration with the illustrated web comic.  I kind of loved it, especially as the text portion doesn't slow down the quick pace usually found in a comic.  Everything moves fast in this story, and it is quite a mystery/adventure.  May meets a friend along the way, Trick, and he helps her with the cyber-sleuthing.  The best part is?  We stick to the adventure at hand, and no romance is forced in.  This is a story about one kick ass girl trying to find the truth.  She can actually spend a lot of time with a guy and NOT be distracted by romantic thoughts or innuendo!   I KNOW!

This is great for most readers, especially reluctant readers, as it is a fast-paced mystery/adventure.  It is also a great friendship story - because who wouldn't do whatever they needed to help their best friend?

(I just saw a publisher's blurb that said this was for fans of Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen.  I am totally on board with the Cory reference, but not as convinced of the Dessen - unless they are just trying to say female?  Hope not....  just my two cents.)

*****
I Am Princess X
by Cherie Priest
Arthur A. Levine, 2015
229 pages
Source:  Purchased New
*****

-----

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...